You are currently viewing Tinubu inaugurates NEC, says no excuse for failure
Share this story

President Bola Tinubu, on Thursday morning, inaugurated the National Economic Council at the Council Chamber of the State House Abuja.

Thursday’s inauguration comes a week after Tinubu directed council members to concretise intervention plans to mitigate the effects of the petroleum subsidy.

Tinubu, who inaugurated the NEC at 11:25 am, said the task of growing the nation’s economy is quite enormous.

“Therefore, there will be no excuse for failure or complain as all the elected officials, asked, campaigned and danced for the job,” the president said.


The president also urged the council to work together and support his administration’s mandate to transform the economic fortunes of the country saying “Collaboration is. Not a crime. Please let u do so.”

Afterward, the president departed the chambers for his office as VP Shettima steered the discussions amongst council members.


The NEC was established by the provisions of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999, as amended; Section 153(1) and Paragraphs 18 & 19 of Part I of the Third Schedule.

Chaired by Vice President Kashim Shettima, the Council, which meets monthly, has the mandate to “advise the President concerning the economic affairs of the Federation, and in particular on measures necessary for the coordination of the economic planning efforts or economic programmes of the various Governments of the Federation.”


Its members comprise the 36 State Governors, the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, and other co-opted Government officials.

Present are the Governors of Kwara, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq; Osun, Ademola Adeleke; Kogi, Yahaya Bello; Ekiti, Biodun Oyebanji; Nasarawa, Abdullahi Sule; Akwa Ibom, Umo Eno; Enugu, Peter Mbah; Cross River, Bassey Otu; Plateau, Caleb Muftwang; Kebbi, Nasir Idris; Katsina, Aliyu Radda; and Benue, Hycinth Alia.


Others are Governors of Zamfara, Dauda Lawal; Ogun, Dapo Abiodun; Anambra, Charles Soludo; Yobe, Mai Mala Buni; Taraba, Agbu Kefas; Gombe, Inuwa Yahaya, Delta, Sheriff Oborevwori; Rivers, Siminalayi Fubara; Niger, Mohammed Bago; and Sokoto, Ahmad Aliyu.

Also attending are those of Ebonyi, Francis Nwifuru; Kaduna, Uba Sani; Edo, Godwin Obaseki; Abia, Alex Otti; Bayelsa, Douye Diri; Kano, Abba Yusuf; Bauchi, Bala Mohammed; Oyo, Seyi Makinde; and Deputy Governors of Borno, Umar Kadafur and Ondo, Lucky Ayedatiwa.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume, Chief of Staff, Femi Gbajabiamila, the Group Chief Executive Officer of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited, Mele Kyari, Acting Accountant General of the Federation, Oluwatoyin Madein, Acting Governor of Central Bank, Folashodun Shonubi, Permanent Secretaries Budget and National Planning, Federal Capital Territory Administration and State House are also in attendance.

Source: PUNCH


Do you have an important success story, news, or opinion article to share with with us? Get in touch with us at or Whatsapp +1 317 665 2180

Join our WhatsApp Group to receive news and other valuable information alerts on WhatsApp.

Share this story

Leave a Reply