You are currently viewing Tinubu declared President-elect
Share this story

The presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Tinubu is the winner of last Saturday’s election after polling 8,794,726 votes.

He was declared president-elect by the Returning Officer, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, who is also the National Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at about 4:10 am on Wednesday.

The presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Alhaji Atiku Abubakar recorded 6,984,520 votes, while his counterpart of the Labour Party secured 6,101,533.

The candidate of the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP), Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso had 1,496,687 votes.

Tinubu won the elections in 13 states – Rivers, Borno, Jigawa, Zamfara, Benue, Kogi, Kwara, Niger, Osun, Ekiti, Ondo, Oyo and Ogun States

Atiku won in 12 states – Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto, Kaduna, Gombe, Yobe, Bauchi, Adamawa, Taraba, Osun, Akwa Ibom and Bayelsa States.


Obi won in 11 states – Edo, Cross River, Delta, Lagos, Plateau, Imo, Ebonyi, Nasarawa, Anambra, Abia, and Enugu States, as well as the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

Kwankwaso won in Kano State.


Do you have an important success story, news, or opinion article to share with with us? Get in touch with us at or Whatsapp +1 317 665 2180

Join our WhatsApp Group to receive news and other valuable information alerts on WhatsApp.

Share this story

Leave a Reply