You are currently viewing Ekiti Assembly Unveils List Of Commissioners Nominees
Share this story

The Speaker of the Ekiti State House of Assembly, Adeoye Aribasoye, has unveiled the list of nominees for the position of commissioners forwarded by Governor Biodun Oyebanji for screening and confirmation.

Speaking at the plenary of the House on Tuesday, the first to be held since the Seventh Assembly was inaugurated on June 6, the speaker disclosed that the screening would commence on Monday, July 3, when nominees are expected to begin appearing before the legislators.

Reading the communication from the governor, dated June 26, Aribasoye directed the clerk of the assembly to communicate to each of the nominees to furnish the House 30 copies of their curriculum vitae not later than Friday, June 30, in readiness for the screening, which kicks off on Monday, July 3.

According to Aribasoye, the screening of the commissioners-designate would be held on a senatorial district basis, with nominees from Ekiti North to be screened first, followed in succession by Ekiti South and Ekiti Central.

The speaker, who announced the intention of the legislators to do a thorough job, also disclosed that not more than three nominees would be grilled per day.

From the list read by the speaker, Ado, Efon, Irepodun/Ifelodun, Ido/Osi, and Ayekire local government areas have two commissioner nominees each, while nine other council areas have one each.

The nominees on the list are Mrs Tosin and Mrs Tayo Adeola (Ado), Karonwi Oladapo and Mrs Peju Babafemi (Efon), Prof. Ojo Bakare (Ekiti West), Ojo Atibioke (Ijero), Taiwo Olatunbosun and Mr Adebayo Ajisola (Irepodun/Ifelodun).

Others are Adebayo Adesola and Dr Kareem Akande (Moba), Chief Folorunso Olabode (Ilejemeje), Dr Kofoworola Aderiye and Mr Oyeniyi Adebayo (Ido/Osi) and Mr Seun Fakuade (Oye).


Also on the list are Prof Patrick Tedela (Ekiti Southwest), Kehinde Ajobiewe (Ekiti East), Olufemi Awe and Prof Bolaji Aluko (Ayekire), Ebenezer Boluwade (Emure), Kayode Fasae (Ise/Orun) and Otunba Dolamu Adeniyi (Ikere).

The speaker also explained that the approval of 10 special advisers would be done alongside the screening of the commissioners.

The governor said the forwarding of the list signified his intention to expand the State Executive Council with the appointment of commissioners to assist in service delivery to the people of Ekiti State.

Recalls that Ikole Local Government Area already has two serving commissioners, Dr Oyebanji Filani (Health and Human Services) and Akintunde Oyebode (Finance and Economic Development), while Oye Local Government Area is already represented by the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Dayo Apata.

The trio were sworn in alongside nine other special advisers shortly after Governor Oyebanji assumed office on October 16 last year.

The speaker also announced the constitution of three key committees, pending the constitution of other standing committees of the House.


The committees constituted include Rules and Business, which has House Majority Leader Tolu Ige as chairman and Deputy Majority Leader Yomi Ayorinde as vice chairman.

Other members of the committee are Iyabo Fakunle-Okieimen, Ademola Ojo, and Femi Akindele, while the Assembly Clerk, Tola Esan, serves as secretary.


The House Committee on Media and Public Affairs has Babatunde Oke as chairman and Lateef Akanle as vice chairman. Other members are Idowu Odebunmi, Bosede Olowookere, and Femi Akindele.

An ad hoc Committee on Legislative Agenda that would liaise with the State Executive Council to come up with an executive-legislative agenda was also constituted.

Lennox Mall

The committee, chaired by Ayodeji Adegbite, is expected to prepare the legislative agenda for the Seventh Assembly in concurrence with the executive arm of government.

Other members of the committee include Abimbola Solanke, Babatunde Oke, Omotayo Babatunde, and Idowu Odebunmi, while Bankole Ogunmosunle serves as secretary.


Also at the sitting, the Ekiti State Electric Power Sector Bill passed the first reading, while the Ekiti State Sports Commission Bill passed through the first and second readings.

After exhaustive deliberation, Speaker Aribasoye committed the Ekiti State Sports Commission Bill 2023 to the Committee on Youths and Sports, to be constituted soon, to work on it and report back to the House.


The House subsequently adjourned its sitting until July 3.


Do you have an important success story, news, or opinion article to share with with us? Get in touch with us at or Whatsapp +1 317 665 2180

Join our WhatsApp Group to receive news and other valuable information alerts on WhatsApp.

Share this story

Leave a Reply