You are currently viewing UAE lifts travel restriction on Nigeria, 10 other countries
Share this story

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has lifted the travel restriction on Nigeria and 11 other African countries.

According to the UAE authorities, the lifting of restrictions on Nigeria and other countries takes effect on Saturday, January 29.

With the lifting, the authorities said flight arrivals can resume from Nigeria,  Botswana, Congo Republic, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Mozambique, 

UAE’s National Emergency Crisis and Disaster Management Authority (NCEMA) said it was lifting the ban initially imposed as part of measures to prevent the spread of the Omicron variant of COVID-19.

The country issued a travel restriction on passenger flights from Nigeria, Kenya, Tanzania, and Ethiopia in December.

NCEMA and the General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) said the directive, which took effect December 25, was due to concerns related to the spread of the omicron COVID-19 variant.


“The excluded categories should present a negative COVID-19 test obtained within 48 hours of departure and a Rapid-PCR test at the airport within six hours of departure whenever possible and another PCR test at the airport upon arrival to UAE,” the UAE agency said in December.

It, however, announced an update to the entry procedures for flights originating from Ghana, Rwanda, and Uganda.



Do you have an important success story, news, or opinion article to share with with us? Get in touch with us at or Whatsapp +1 317 665 2180

Join our WhatsApp Group to receive news and other valuable information alerts on WhatsApp.

Share this story

Leave a Reply